Main Menu

Some of my work

Started by NM-92, March 05, 2016, 07:19:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NM-92

Okay, i'm new in the forum, so hi to you all. My name is Nicolás, i am from Argentina and i am currently studying industrial design. I am astonished (and a little sad) for the quality of the images that i saw in the forum, so i created an account to ask for advice. I'm not really into all this forum thing so i don't know if this topic goes here, but i wanted to share my renders, so i could get some critics, advice and comments on my work. So, here it goes.

Also, i have a question. How do you illuminate your scenes ? Is it completely HDRI ? Do you use physical lights as well?

Here is my Behance profile, some of them are uploaded there with their process: https://www.behance.net/nm-92

I think that's it, looking forward to learn and improve. Thanks to you all.

Will Gibbons

Good start! Some of these are stronger than others. The quickest way to learn is to ask questions, learn from the best and keep making new work!

I also studied industrial design (quite a handful of years ago), so I hope you're having fun! One bit of advice I like to offer those who are trying to improve their renderings and are pretty new to it is to use photo references. It makes a big difference. Look at every little surface, material, texture, bit of lighting and try to replicate it.

As for your question about lighting, using HDRI or physical lights comes down to personal preference. Sometimes it's hard to achieve a result with only one approach, so in many cases both HDRI and physical lights get used. There are no real rules... do what you need to do to create a great result!

Magnus Skogsfjord

I agree with Will, there are some great starters here! And the tips about recreating photos is also great. Have done that myself a bunch of times.