Main Menu

Tide Bottle

Started by timbudtwo, April 14, 2016, 10:41:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

timbudtwo

My first real render - this is what I used to learn keyshot. I am in my second semester of Solidworks. Semester 1 is solid bodies, semester 2 is surfaces. We had to make a variety of bottles and this one was a toughie.

Milky plastic #3 for the cap, Plastic for the bottle

TpwUK

That's pretty good for s first render, certainly better than my first render :)

Martin

timbudtwo

Quote from: TpwUK on April 14, 2016, 04:49:58 PM
That's pretty good for s first render, certainly better than my first render :)

Martin

Let me clarify, not my first ABSOLUTE render. This is just the first model that I have tried rendering, and this is as far as my current experience level will get me while still getting that feeling of accomplishment at the end. :D There were more than a couple renders to see what was going on with the light, a few renders to figure out that translucency more than quadruped my render time, and a few renders to realize that "maximum time" is a terrible option.  I'm so new I can't nit pick too much, but when I sent people pix on my phone (when I was bragging) I convinced a couple people it was real.

What can I do better? It still has a bit of that uncanny look to it in my opinion.

Arn

Quote from: timbudtwo on April 14, 2016, 08:39:36 PM
What can I do better? It still has a bit of that uncanny look to it in my opinion.
Try to add some subtle imperfections. The materials now look perfectly smooth, while the surrounding environment like the table and clothes have much more going on. Perfection quickly looks fake.

TpwUK

[/quote]

Design some labels for it, most of us do not see the naked plastic bottle. Adding labels will give you a more realistic product vis look, you can then add much and grunge to the whole if you want to create a more used look, so do both if you can :)

Martin

timbudtwo

Quote from: TpwUK on April 15, 2016, 04:16:54 AM