Giclee Prints + New

Started by Speedster, March 28, 2018, 03:41:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Speedster

Hi all;

Well, after 45 years designing and prototyping medical devices, I've finally decided to wind down the design studio (mainly by limiting new clients) and focus on my own passion, Industrial Archeology and stuff from the History of Science and Technology.  I've shared many here over the years.

I've been working toward this goal for several years by creating multiple income paths all based on my SolidWorks CAD models, and now with KeyShot 7 It's finally reached the quality level I wanted.  I sell blackline drawings for modelers, have most of my models on Turbosquid as a Diamond Level artist, create book and magazine covers, as well as illustrations for books, magazines and technical publications.  Individually not a biggie, but taken together it provides a steady monthly revenue stream.

Now I'm adding fine art prints to the mix, and am selling them in two galleries and in museum gift shops. Working on a new dedicated website, not yet live, that will feature only artwork by myself and my wife Geri, who's a noted painter and sculptor.

So to introduce the Fine Art prints I've chosen my SW model of the 1904 Steam Yacht Medea, one of my favorites!  Below are the final cut...  Modeled in SolidWorks, and rendered of course in KeyShot 7 Pro.  The primary prints (I may not offer the raw KeyShots) were then treated to a lot of love in Dynamic Auto Painter, AKA DAP5.  An astounding program!  They also went through some FilterForge passes, and then final post in Photoshop CS5.  The sepia shot was created in FilterForge.  The master prints were rendered at 5700 x 3900, using the Interior Mode ((due to the large number of IES lights), and baked for 1 1/2 hours on 30 cores.  Product Mode did not achieve the color density and quality I wanted.