NEWBIE - lighting question

Started by whcraft, February 19, 2015, 09:31:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

whcraft

I am still new to Keyshot and learning my way around.  I am still a little behind the curve on lighting techniques.
I am trying figure how to light one of my company's products.  We support the construction and mining industries.
I need to figure out how to better light the inside of the attached excavator bucket.  Any help, suggestions or tutorials
will be appreciated.  Also, my HDR Light Studio plug-in gives me an error when I try to use it.

thanks

guest84672

You can rotate the HDRI and also change the "height" in the environment tab.

Additionally, you could place an area light inside the shovel and hide it in the camera, shadows and reflections.

Not sure about HDRI Light Studio, we don't really support the product.

whcraft

thanks for the suggestions.  I've experimented with the rotation and height thing but I'm not really sure on how to add an area light.
Is that in the edit HDRI and placing pins?

guest84672

No. From the edit menu import a cube/sphere/plane and place it inside the shovel. Then double click on that object to edit the material. In the type pulldown you will see 3 light materials. Select area light diffuse, and adjust intensity and color, and then hide it using the advanced options in the material to make it invisible to camera, doesn't affect shadows, etc.

If you have Pro with the HDRI editor, you could place a pin by selecting "place highlight", and click right inside the shovel. Then adjust the pin's shape, color, falloff and brightness accordingly.

whcraft

thanks again. I do have Pro and will see what I can do with your suggestions.

whcraft

whcraft