Can't decide on CPU / LGA2011-V3 / people who actually know this should answer.

Started by Nils Piirma, December 02, 2014, 11:25:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nils Piirma

Hey Guys.

I'm a server hardware engineer but I'm having trouble on what to buy for my rendering machine.
Since I'm planning on Haswell-E LGA 2011 machine I need to know on what is Keyshot using the most:
1. Is it the Core count?
2. Is it the Clock speed?
3. Is it the combination of the 2 above?
4. Is there a L3 cache difference on what to choose?

I'm running around between LGA2011 Intel Xeon 2620V3 x2  OR   2630V3 x2
Since it's going to be a dualsocket machine, and the budget to spend on the CPU + Motherboard + RAM is around 2500 USD
RAM: 64GB of 2133MHZ ECC memory
Motherboard: Supermicro X10DAi

The previous X9 family and V2 series or motherboard and cpu have been under my test many times. I'm just trying to find the Goldylocks zone with this next build.

I'm appriciating a direct and a 100% asnwer as direct as possible Why and What should be better.
Since none of these are consumer grade products I'd be happy to not get answers from people who have no Hand's on Experience with this product line, save yourselves from it.

If there could be a Keyshot algorithm engineer here who would tell me the direct answer  I'd appreciate it:)

Thanks guys.

Nils
Server Hardware Engineer

TpwUK

Hi Nils,

I just built a new dual 2011-v2 here because I could not afford the v3 and I would be very surprised if you could make a Goldilocks system on the budget you propose. The RAM prices here in the UK made it a no go build here. Dries here on the forum offers some great advice regarding builds and he will probably come in on this thread when he gets chance :)