material templates, colors, and Geomagic design

Started by JST, September 08, 2015, 07:36:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JST

I am fairly new with Keyshot, but I am so far able to get what I want reasonably well.  I am by no means expert at doing renderings.  I am still using the stock materials in teh library, not editing them.

My input CAD program is Geomagic Design (formerly called Alibre), which I will call GD for short.   My version of Keyshot came bundled WITH the latest updated version of GD, as a package.   Prior to this I was just using the best rendering that the CAD program would do

I am trying to get the material templates in keyshot working in a usable way.  My problem is that GD does not seem to export material names, despite them being assigned, so it defaults to the part name as the "tag". 

Well, as you can guess, part names are often a touchy subject, they may be part numbers, etc, and not able to be changed willy nilly just to satisfy a rendering program.   And there may be a couple hundred distinct parts.  So I start off with an "issue" here.

So far I have had to assign the parts individually, and that is what I have done, due to there being different part names, and no material names.  There being a lot of parts, I have been trying to test out the system before committing to any particular action on all 200+ parts in each of the existing models that need to be rendered.

I ran into a question that I don't know how to answer.  GD outputs part colors, and in general Keyshot takes those in and renders the part in that color just fine.  Just fine as long as no properties are assigned, that is.