Lighting for flat bottomed object super dark

Started by itman496, September 18, 2015, 06:01:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

itman496

Hello, rendering a ship and I can't seem to get the underside to work properly.  I'll admit I'm a bit of a newbie with keyshot.

I even tried adding a panel under the model and making it emissive to light up the bottom, but the perfectly perpendicular to the ground bits still show up weird! (no detail, flat color)

refer to this series of images.  The first one is no shadows, so you can see what is supposed to be there.  The first one is no extra light, the second is with the light panel.  See how the flat bottom still doesn't render properly?  I'm confused, I have a panel light pointed right at it..  I assume it is a setting that I'm missing.  Thanks for the great work on this program! It's much better then simlab..

richardfunnell

Do you still see the same result when you turn off ground shadows? Project > Environment > Ground > Ground Shadows.
Feel free to send us the file using https://keyshot.wetransfer.com if you'd like us to take a look at the scene, it won't be publicly shared.

itman496

ground shadows does make it stop, as it does in the first embedded image, but it also gets rid of all the nice shading like in the second image.  Do you want the sketchup file to see if its an importing problem?  There is nothing happening once it imports, I'm rendering straight off of all default textures and settings of the import.

Will Gibbons

Also, what's the effect of moving the object up and turning on ground reflections. Also, making some planes to introduce an indirect light source may help?

richardfunnell

Will's suggestions for moving the object up will definitely help, but would you be able to share the SketchUp file as well to see the issue in detail?

My apologies for the delayed response, I've been traveling for the past 2 weeks. You can send the file via https://keyshot.wetransfer.com

edwardo