Rendering big machines

Started by bendixs, November 18, 2015, 11:07:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bendixs

Hello everyone,

I'm new on this forum, so first of all hi!

I am working on rendering bigger machine-lines and workshop layouts similar to those I have attached. As I am new in KeyShot and still learning, I am having a hard time getting my results to look realistic. Can you guys please share which basic settings you would use for an assembly like this?

My settings come from various tutorials, forum threads etc. and till now I have been working with the following:

KeyShot 6 Pro

-Materials: Stainless Steel Brushed Light, Matte paint colors and Hard Rough Plastics.
-HDRI: Light Tent White Open 2
-Global illumination: On
-Background color: White

My render settings:
-Filetype: TIFF
-Resolution: 10.000 X xxxx
-Quality: Maximum time ~1-4 hours

Anyone that can help me comment on my choice of lighting, materials or settings?

Will Gibbons

I hate to be the first to offer advice you may not wish to hear, but a common answer to your question is that there are no 'basic settings' that will allow your model to just 'look realistic'. Also, please don't take this reply as sarcastic ;)

My true suggestions are as follows:

The biggest improvement you'll see is in lighting. Try using the HDRI that looks like a factory with overhead fluorescent lights. You're using what looks like a photo booth environment, which is not a realistic lighting scenario.

Next suggestion is to not use the materials without making changes to them. By that I mean, try changing some of the parameters. I'd try increasing your bump or texture so it's easier to see. Right now I don't see any.

I think your paint (or the blue area) looks too saturated and bright to be believable.

Self shadows is turned on, right?

If you're using KeyShot 6, turn on interior lighting mode (if you haven't already).