"Failed reading input file" when rendering through queue

Started by sethcshort, August 29, 2016, 06:24:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sethcshort

Hi, I've been encountering this error for several months. Frequently (but not always, maybe 1/3 of the time) when rendering with the queue, an error pops up repeatedly. "Failed reading input file. XXXXXXX (filename) Please contact support@luxion.com". The render queue seems to freeze, but when I hit OK, the progress bar jumps forward, then another error window appears. I hit OK, and it repeats several times, then finishes rendering.

What could be causing this?

I'm on Windows 7 Pro, 16GB RAM and 8 cores, using Keyshot 6.2.105. I'm rendering TIFFs at 3840X2905, 300dpi. Approximately 27 million triangles in the scene, but each render shows between 5 and 15 million. I'm rendering to a local drive.

Thanks,
Seth

guest84672

I have to admit I've never seen this error message. Are you running out of disk space by any chance?

I have also forwarded this post to the team so we can take a look.

sethcshort

I've got 425 GB free on my hard drive.

I haven't mentioned the error before because 1) it usually happens in the middle of a rush so I don't have time to document it, and 2) the render files (TIF) themselves seem to turn out fine so it doesn't affect the results. Except if I want to let a render queue run overnight, I come back in the morning and instead of renders I have that error window. :-/

If it's any help in diagnosing -- my coworker who has pretty much the same setup, same machine, same version, on the same network, says he doesn't get this error. The one difference between us that I can think of is that I have a regular user login and he has an admin login. But I do have full read/write access to the folder indicated in the error (C:\Users\Public\Documents\KeyShot 6\Scenes). And I can see the .ext files being created and deleted as the queue populates and renders.