shadow color/transparency

Started by andy.engelkemier, September 27, 2016, 10:09:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

monson67

Regarding the shadows looking like they have JPG artifacts (I know they're not - I get what you meant), I've experienced this as well. Though, it's difficult to know if you and I are talking about the same thing without seeing examples of what you're dealing with.

Anyhow, I'm still very new to KeyShot, but I think that my problem was that my objects were intersecting with the ground plane. When I moved them up so that they were just barely hovering above the ground plane, that seemed to help. Then again, I was rendering shadows separately from the actual object using the emissive material trick, so the artifacting may have only been in areas that were going to be covered up by the object later on in Photoshop. I can't remember for sure. Either way, it's something you may want to try.

Rex

Yes, would be good to see an example of the shadow artifacting you are experiencing.

andy.engelkemier

So I've tried every combination I could think of in my current file. Quality 1, Quality 5, no sharp shadows, low/high quality GI, Lower/Higher Samples.
I can't get this to happen in the file I'm working on today. I'm Pretty sure that I also can't get this to go away when I get it, trying the same things, and even using a ground plane instead of shadows.
So I will take extra care next time I get it. It's looking more like an error now since I am unable to repeat it. I have since updated that file, and it renders fine.

I've blanked out the product. I didn't render it as an emissive material or anything. I just masked it off in photoshop because I shouldn't be sharing that product. I figured the silhouette of just the caster area is probably fine though.