Exterior lighting for CGI Architectural

Started by jbomb, March 08, 2017, 03:39:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbomb

Hi Guys,

I'm far from an expert and I could really do with some help/guidance.
I have started to play around with exterior architecture (I'm finding the interior mode great and I'm getting some pretty good results) I cannot seem to get a realistic looking lighting setup for my buildings. I have played around with all presets and started to delve into the HDRI editior. Whilst I can get my renders to look ok they just don't seem to have the realistic look that I'm after. I have attached an image from google as this gives a good idea of what I am trying to achieve. I have not produced this image and it's purely for reference. I assume this has been produced in Vray as it has 'the look' I have then attached an image I have produced (the white one). This has had some test PS work done to it so Isn't obviously a pure KS render.

Do you guys have any templates or setups that I can use to try and get more of a realistic finish?

Any advice would be great.
James

mattjgerard

What sort of HDRI are you lighting this with. HDRI is certainly the way to go, but you need to use one that mimics the environment your scene is in. So, for exterior, you wouldn't use one of the black and white studio images. There is color bouncing off everything in the real world, so your HDRI needs to have that color as well.

I think you are off to a good start, the other thing that catches my eye is the greens are way over saturated. If that hyper-real look is what you are going for then great, but if you really look out in the real world, colors are much more muted than we think. The cartoony look the rich saturated colors give your image might just be one small part of why its not looking the way you want. There are many others, hopefully more people will chime in.