Link Material except for Texture/Bump Mapping

Started by kstaach, November 01, 2017, 03:46:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kstaach

Hello,

I'm a furniture designer doing a lot of woodwork and am experiencing a workflow issue around wood materials. My issue is that the wood grain needs to run in different directions on different parts of the same model. I'd like to be able to retain the ability to adjust color/ring size/noice/etc in a linked way, but move the mapping independently. Is there a way to do this?

Thank you!

*new to the forums - couldn't find this topic, so apologies if it's been addressed.

INNEO_MWo

I could work if you work with labels. I should run a test. Wish version do you use?

Cheers
Marco

mattjgerard

You should be able to set the mapping per object, but keep the materials linked? That's a good question.

Procedural wood = Nope. Doesn't have mapping options for the textures.

Textural wood- Nope. All attributes are linked.

Doesn't look like there is an easy way to do this.

INNEO_MWo

Quote from: mattjgerard on November 02, 2017, 09:41:35 AM
You should be able to set the mapping per object, but keep the materials linked? That's a good question.

Procedural wood = Nope. Doesn't have mapping options for the textures.

Textural wood- Nope. All attributes are linked.

Doesn't look like there is an easy way to do this.

Matt's right. I tried to use a dummy cube with a wood material from the library and attached it as a label material to the different bodies. But it doesn't sync the changes. So I can easily change the label material from the scene material list to the material graph of each part via drag'n'drop (every time if the wood material is changed).

In the attached example you'll notice the different materials of the cube and the cylinder with different bump textures.

Hope that helps a bit?!

Cheers
Marco

kstaach

Thanks, guys. I'm using Keyshot 7.1.51.