Is a 1080p 27" monitor suitable for rendering (or need higher res)?

Started by Matt.Kinsington, January 05, 2018, 08:32:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matt.Kinsington

Hi all,

Looking to buy an external monitor for my laptop to do renderings, CAD work and general use.  Possibly some video editing.  I'm a total beginner, so trying to keep costs low.

I could get something like a Dell Ultrasharp 27" with 2560x1440 pixels for around $400-$500 USD.  Fairly confident that would do the job. 

But would rather spend half that for now (if possible) on something like a Dell Professional P2717H (or any other suitable make and model).

But perhaps it's best to invest in a higher quality monitor, rather than try to save money here.
Anyone rendering on a 27" 1080p monitor that could give some advice??

Thanks

Furniture_Guy

We currently have four of these on our Windows 10 KeyShot render PC's and they work quite well:

http://www.benq.us/product/monitor/sw2700pt/

And we're in a marketing department Mac environment so we're spoiled when it comes to good monitors.

https://www.keyshot.com/c/virco/

Not super cheap but you are, after all, doing visual work you want to look good...

Furniture_Guy

Matt.Kinsington

Thanks for the recommendation Funiture_Guy. 

Those BenQs looks to be about $600 each. 
I will definitely consider those since you've shown they're suitable for even high level professional use.  So it's something I could grow into.

I'm caught in that age-old position of trying to spend as little as possible to get started vs. needing to get high enough quality gear to actually do a good job and continue on.

My hunch is a 1080p 27" won't even be suitable for my daily tasks, let alone quality rendering.

Thanks

mattjgerard

so, I started a new job about a year ago, and they were using $80 business class 23" 1080 monitors. Weren't the best, so I did some research and made some suggestions.