Network Rendering License Set up Configuration

Started by E1ss, March 20, 2018, 12:50:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

E1ss

Dear Guys,

I am totally new to NR on Keyshot. And i plan to set up a small render farm for my office.

I have 3 laptops (each has 8 cores included virtual) installed with KS7 HD and 3 workstation desktops with each has 16 cores (included virtual).

I plan to use 1 of the laptop as Master and the 3 workstation desktops as Slave for render (total 48 cores).

my question is:
1. How many NR license do i need to purchase and which type of the license (how many cores) to fully optimize my set up?
2. For the laptop as set to be Master and the other ,2 can i use the laptop's cores to render also?

Thank you~

mattjgerard

1) Licenses are sold as 32 or 64 core packs. Wouldnt hurt to contact sales and see if there is a 48 core option, but they might suggest to just buy another computer :)

2) Any cores used for a network render submitted through the network render queue will count against the core count for the license. Example- we have a 32 core server IT set up for us that we have the NR both the master and the slave. If i switched the master function to my own 24 core workstation, and used the 32 core server as the slave, I would NOT be able to include the 24 cores on my workstation as part of the network renderer. In other words, nope, no way to cheat the system :)

3) There have been an increasing call for a better pricing model for the network render options, as other render engines which will not be named here have some more friendly schemes. Can't hurt to send in your thoughts to Luxion on that issue. I'm about to up my license, I just got the confirmation that they ordered a 48 core HP Z8 BTO box for our render farm. Hoping against hope that they leave the current 32 core machine in place and just add this (which will need a larger NR license) but man, that would be awesome if they did.

E1ss