Importing From Fusion 360

Started by danielsweitzer@mac.com, August 27, 2018, 01:58:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

danielsweitzer@mac.com

I'm new to Keyshot but I have a problem importing some of my models from Fusion 360 into Keyshot with the Fusion 360 plugin. With my models, when I import directly from Fusion 360 some of my components are out of the position from what they were in Fusion 360. If I export as a step they are still out of position. Exporting in the other file formats they import correctly but I lose faces I have split for materials. I have attached screenshots of what this is doing to illustrate. I have exhausted looking and trying various things in Fusion. Any ideas? Best, Dan

iMac 21.5 inch 2017
Mac os 10.13.6
Fusion 360 2.0.4383
Keyshot Pro 7.3.40

Will Gibbons

Actually, yes. I have a suspicion, but am not sure... I have a feeling this behavior is tied to how you work in Fusion 360. When you move a part or create a joint in F360, do you 'capture position', when it gives you that option? I recommend doing that every time. I think I chose to not do that and ran into the same behavior you are seeing.

Also, I tend to export to .step and do direct import into KS for my final renders.

Let me know if that doesn't help.

danielsweitzer@mac.com

Thank you for your feedback!