total newbie on rendering and have a couple questions

Started by Joseph H, May 06, 2019, 05:00:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joseph H

So I played around and was able to get a half way descent render close to photo realistic as i could being new. then I went to another file I was working on and when I try to add a material to say a tire or windshield it textures the entire vehicle. I am new to 3D but I am not sure where I went wrong I was using 3ds max 2017 and have the app that imports it into keyshot and for some reason everything has a plastic assigned to it.

I also cant seem to find any maps just a obj

so my question for those familiar with max is there something I didnt do somewhere to create some UV maps? I thought they created as I made the part.

and my other is if the above is right how come it is adding material to my entire object when i just select that 1 particular part.

Thanks sorry for such a noob basic question as I always just made stuff because i never understood anything about texturing and rendering  and couldnt find anyone to help as i did tutorials but you cant ask a tutorial questions when your lost

Joe

Joseph H

First Image is my first try at photo realistic the second image is the scene thats not wanting to cooperate with me

RRIS

Quote from: Joseph H on May 06, 2019, 05:00:47 PM
So I played around and was able to get a half way descent render close to photo realistic as i could being new. then I went to another file I was working on and when I try to add a material to say a tire or windshield it textures the entire vehicle. I am new to 3D but I am not sure where I went wrong I was using 3ds max 2017 and have the app that imports it into keyshot and for some reason everything has a plastic assigned to it.