Light Freckles on Transparent Materials

Started by jennieelectrix, July 02, 2019, 01:20:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jennieelectrix

I've been using KeyShot for a few months now and seem to have worked out most of my issues, but this one I can't seem to get around.
I'm trying to render a product which has a grey transparent window on the front (important because other products I've rendered in the same scene that didn't have the window, didn't have this problem).
When I do the result is lots of light freckles all over (see screenshots, one is with caustics switched on and one is without).
I've tried everything I can think of with this, I've been in contact with support who suggested I increase the samples to 128 (they were previously at 40) however I'm now 30 minutes into rendering this simple 36 frame animation and it is on 1% progress. I have around 10 - 15 of these to render full 360 animations for, so I don't have the time to sit and wait for it to render at this rate!
Any suggestions that won't mean waiting days for one scene to render would be massively appreciated with this.

DriesV

Hi Jennie,

Are you using Custom Control as the quality mode for rendering? I have a suspicion that you are. :)
These "light freckles" (I love that term, btw... Sounds better than "splotches") can occur when using Custom Control to render transparent surfaces. They are especially noticeable with transparent parts, covering diffuse surfaces in close proximity, as appears to be the case in your images.

Increasing Samples will not do much for solving the issue.
The only way to avoid these freckles with Custom Control is to disable 'Global Illumination Cache' (the third checkbox in the Custom Control settings).