Setting up lights in general

Started by hook, June 07, 2019, 01:52:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hook

Hello there!

I'm fairly new to KS and don't really have experience in this field at all, so at the moment I'm just working myself into it on trial and error.
I'm definitely making progress but one thing that's really bugging me is setting up the lights.
Since I'm only doing this semi-professional and only intend to do a few renders every now and then in the future I'm only using the HD license at the moment which has no HDRI editor.
So when I'm lighting my scene I start with the environment preset that fits the most and work myself up from there but I often have a really hard time actually making the lights visible on the geometry. I often see myself dragging the light source across the map randomly finding a spot which looks good. And still then, when I'm working on more complex geometry when I light up a surface, some others close to it, which have the same angle to the light source strangely stay dark. So I often end up with a piece which is either partly too dark or too bright.

I know a lot of this simply comes down to practice but is the HDRI editor really making this so much easier or am I artificially making it hard for myself by missing out some basic rules?

I'm thankful for every answer, cheers.

Eugen Fetsch

The HDRi editor is IMO mandatory to have control over the lighting. Otherwise you can work with the physical light sources, they definitely do the job to.

If you like to know more about light, flags, black cards, angle of reflection etc ... this book will help you to get a better understanding of the basic rules - Light Science & Magic

hook

Quote from: camomiles on June 07, 2019, 02:13:56 AM
The HDRi editor is IMO mandatory to have control over the lighting.

That really wasn't the answer I was hoping to read  ;D But thank you for your reply.