Beginner looking for some advice on workflow and creating materials from scratch

Started by WhoDatWeDat, December 06, 2019, 04:34:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WhoDatWeDat

Hi, so I'm an engineering student, but I've quickly developed an interest and hobby in Keyshot. I guess because it combines two loves of mine, engineering/cad and video games in terms of understanding lighting, texturing etc.

Obviously I'm not trying to be a industry product designer or artist, what I want from Keyshot is just to be able to give life to any CAD models I make in Catia, and get a further understanding of computer graphics along the way.

My first and main question is, how do I go about making materials from scratch? What are the best ways people go about sourcing bump and normal maps in order to create the textures/materials they require? I have a very basic understanding of how the material graph works in Keyshot, so it would be nice to get some decent source material for my kind of use case. I have a subscription to Substance, would people advise me to simply download materials from say Source that I like, and then import whatever bump maps, normal maps etc that are used for that material, into my Keyshot 9 Resources so I now have access to high quality sources for me to play with and learn to make my own materials and textures?

I am mainly focused with the automotive side of things and I like to make single components or very basic assemblies in Catia. For example, a rear wing, a turbocharger or supercharger or a full wheel assembly consisting of the wheel, hub, brake disc and caliper. So naturally, the materials and finishes I'm mainly looking for are things like machined aluminium from billet and cast material, as well as non-machined cast surfaces, silicon carbide for brake disc material and appropriate radial scratched textures if I wanted to present the part already being used as well as carbon fiber for bodywork stuff.