Author Topic: Problems getting a lacquer effect on wood  (Read 1223 times)

Offline Frank_____

Problems getting a lacquer effect on wood
« on: May 02, 2020, 03:29:52 am »
Hi, I'm fairly new to Keyshot but I've done a lot of research in here and elsewhere but can't seem to get this to work. I think that my material graph looks right & am assuming it might be to do with my lighting? I've attached a sample of my render & an example of the kind of effect I'm looking for. Any help apreciated, TIA!

Offline andy.engelkemier

Re: Problems getting a lacquer effect on wood
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2020, 11:40:11 am »
Well there's no clear coat control there. So you're not missing anything. Although, that roughness map looks too light for keyshot. So you should run that through a texture to number converter, and reduce the last 1 value until you're happy with the look.

You could try using a metalic paint. That has clear coat built in. It really sucks Keyshot doesn't have a proper PBR material yet. There's no material that can just do it all, and they don't let you mix materials. You can only layer them with transparency. I think Esben did a tutorial on getting carbon fiber with clear coat, but it's disappointing because it's just using transparency. You get the same effect if you render once with wood, then once with chrome, then just decide how transparent you want the chrome in phtoshop. But if you do it that way, you could just use something like overlay,hard light, or soft light...depending on what you're after.