Just discovered KeyShot

Started by GalleryHakon, December 02, 2013, 04:29:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GalleryHakon

I am an artist, having worked mainly in two dimensions with most of my art, but since 2002 I have also played around with Iterated Fractal System program XenoDream, making still life art to be displayed on a flat surface, though of course the program works in 3D. One of the strengths of XenoDream is being able to make quite fantastical procedural shapes that would be impossible to create in other 3D programs. It does leave some things to be desired when it comes to rendering, though, which is to a certain extent a necessary evil due to how the program works, rendering actually building up the shapes dot by dot in space, and materials and lighting, though nice if you know how to use them correctly, are far from realistic.

So, as it has a nice Wavefront Obj file export function that I have just started to try out, I thought I'd want to see what I could do with the shapes I make rendered in other programs, and got a headache just contemplating getting into something as complex and feature-filled as Blender. For me, my plan was just to build my scene from different objects, just like I have done in XenoDream, and render them quickly and efficiently. Surely there must be a program that lets me do that more easily than Blender? I thought to myself.

Well, a day or two of Googling later, I discovered KeyShot, and I must say it seems like the perfect match.