Keyshot to CS6 color management issues

Started by flappinfish, December 09, 2013, 10:36:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

flappinfish

Hi All,

I know that there are a few threads on this forum regarding color management in Keyshot, but i am at a loss as to how to work with it. I would like to be able to get WSIWYG compliance between Keyshot and CS6. Otherwise whats the point of tweaking things in Keyshot to get just what you want, and then not being able to re-create it in Photoshop !? I work as a Photoshop retoucher, you might be able to get close by monkeying around with adjustment layers but you will never be able to match it. And its the subtle details that add believability to renders, if I have to go in and try to move the color around to match what I had in keyshot I'm going to lose a lot of subtle and not so subtle lighting effects.

Here is what I know so far:
1) Administrator from Keyshot says that the current build version of Keyshot outputs files as sRGB.

2) Administrator also says that when importing profiles into Keyshot via Preferences, that it is only effecting the way in which color is displayed, not embedding a profile in to output

3) I have imported sRGB profile from CS6 into Keyshot --> Preferences --> color management. I have then set CS6 working space as the same sRGB profile. And we know from Administrator that Keyshot is supposedly outputting sRGB.

But none of this is making any difference in my goal to get WSIWYG compliance between the programs. When I open the Keyshot file in CS6 I get a "missing profile" warning. If I assign sRGB to the image I still get the same washed out problem image that needs to be drastically corrected to match original Keyshot view.