My models! Need general advice

Started by pascal3112, February 19, 2014, 07:36:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pascal3112

Hey guys,

I'm studying in Industrial Design and wanted to show you my keyshots shots I've done over last months. Some models were done for clients, but most of them were personal projects or school projects. I know my renders are pretty amateurs, so I'd really like if you guys could point out my mistakes and how to correct them! Luckily, it's still my first year at university so I have a lot of time to improve, so I better start now.

Here's the album (can't upload directly with attachments for some reason):

http://imgur.com/a/O3l6x

Arjun

What makes for good composition includes good lighting. In several of your shots the lighting is either flat or non directional causing a lack of contrast and temperature. Improving your selection of back plates and lighting domes will improve your renders. As for the Spartan... use specular highlights as a way to direct the viewer. Where is the most dynamic location you want the viewer to rest on? The helmet? The sword? The Shield or his vest? You'll notice you used the same "brightness" for all these areas which is telling the viewer that they all are the most important; what would be better served if you chose one location, put the attention to that location and used the others as supporting stepping stones to get to the final location. Just my 2 cents... all in all you're doing great, think emotion and mimic a Hollywood poster... you can't go wrong.

pascal3112

Thanks a lot for the advices! I usually have a hard time when rendering in choosing what I want to show with the light. Most of the time it ends up being a flat composition. What should I do to have better control over the lighting? Add physical lights in the scene ?

Speedster