silent installer

Started by juntunea, April 30, 2014, 07:20:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

juntunea

I searched the forums for "silent install", but I only found wishlist postings from 2010-2011 that said it would be available in version 3 of keyshot.  We just purchased our first license of keyshot and it's version 4, so I assume there is a silent install available.  The only thing I can't find is the instructions for how to use it.  I did a full install and found a user manual, but it didn't mention silent install.

can anyone point me to "silent install" instructions? 

thanks

adam

Ruckus

This is the command line that I have scripted around:

keyshot_floating_w64_4.3.18.exe /S "/USERNAME=X" "/FLEXLM=Y"

where X is the path of your Keyshot4 content folder, and Y is your license server information in the form: port@server

juntunea

Thanks, that almost gets me there.  i'm a total noob, so i'm not sure what the "Keyshot4 content folder" is?  can you give an example?

Ruckus

When you run the installer it will also create a folder structure that contains all the materials, environments, etc.
I think it puts them in  C:\users\public\documents\KeyShot 4    by default.

juntunea

I have another question.  do you know what option will install for all users? 

Ruckus

There is no command line argument for that - any user will be able to access the program.  The location of the content folder determines whether all users, or one, can access the content that will enable KeyShot to function normally.  (C:\users\Joe\...  vs.  C:\users\public\...)

juntunea

If I run this command after the install command, then it changes it from a "current user only" to an "all user" installation
xcopy /e "C:\Users\%username%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\KeyShot4 64 Floating" "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\"

Ruckus