Newbie Q: What options to apply materials from existing BIP file?

Started by rover, January 23, 2015, 02:45:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rover

I am new to Keyshot so be gentle with me!

I have created a BIP file for an assembly I brought in from Creo and am now working on another assembly that includes the original assembly file within the scene (multiple copies of it) - I can't seem to import the materials from the original BIP file to the new scene without Keyshot just bringing in another copy of the original part, can someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?

Thank you.

Rex

Hey rover,

Welcome to KeyShot! You're not really doing anything "wrong". You can go about this a couple ways.

- Import original BIP and copy materials from painted up model to new model.

Or

- Open original BIP and save desired materials to your library to so you can use them in any scene.

Hope this helps!

Rex

rover

All the materials are from the standard library, I haven't created any new ones. What I was trying to do was avoid having to go through and reapply all the materials in the new model, doesn't Keyshot recognise that the BIP is for the same part that is used in my new assembly and therefore apply the materials as they were before?

Rex

Not exactly. Did you create material groupings by applying appearances in Creo? If you were importing the new assembly into the old one and used the same appearances in Creo you could select the "retain materials" option on import. In your case material templates could be your solution.

rover

I created shrinkwrap parts of all components of the same material in Creo, then made an assembly of these parts which I brought into Keyshot. I then applied a material to each of the parts in Keyshot.