Macro shot with shallow DOF - Advanced render controls

Started by GWMN, February 10, 2016, 05:38:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GWMN

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to Keyshot but loving the results I'm getting and the workflow in general.

I'm attempting to render an 11k x 7k macro shot with shallow DOF and translucent materials (leaves).  When using Max Time the DOF stays noisy even after 10-15 hours of rendering.  This led me to try Advanced Controls but renders are taking way too long (15 hours to render 15%).

The most recent settings I've tried are...

Samples 8 - I've a feeling I should bump this back up to 16.
Ray Bounces 10 - Take this back down to 6?
Anti Aliasing 1
Shadow 2 - How much doe this value affect render time?
Global Illumination 1
Pixel Blur 1.5
DOF 2 - How much does this value affect render time?  If I bump this up to 3 or 5 is it likely to improve the noisy DOF?
Sharp Shadows checked.
Global Illumination Cache checked.

Any advice or help appreciated.

P.

I'm also saving/working to a USB3 external hard drive.  Could that affect render time?

TpwUK

Ouch! 15 hours is a long time. Your settings there are ok but the samples do need to be higher. DOF quality will play a massive part in slowing things down as does translucency.

A few things to clear up here though ... Why the need for an 11k x 7k image ? That's huge, like billboard size ! Producing images of this size requires lots of RAM where a single tiff image may require as much as 10 G-bytes, so you could also be running out of memory and using swap space, which would be dramatically slower.

You say you're saving to an external device - Are you on a laptop ? If so then unless it's a really high end one you are likely to find that your processor is too slow and have two few cores/threads to be able to deliver what you want in the time scale you are expecting. 

Martin

GWMN

Hi Martin,
Thanks for the quick reply.