Banding issue from animation

Started by scanline, April 12, 2017, 12:31:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

scanline

Hello fellow keyshot folks:

Background banding is giving me headache. Due to the fact that my computer is not strong enough to render my work for my portfolio, I have decided to hire render farm service. But right now all the tests came back with banding issue. I am new to rendering so I don't know what to do. I don't want to spend extra money to fix something which I could myself but I need to know if I could.

Test results from mp4 and avi format came out almost exactly identical from two separate render farm.  I know they are just test renders but right now I don't know if that's compression from the test or the final render would be the same as well. Could this be HDR background problem and maybe I could tweak something to fix it?  I tried some test with After Effects; adding noise and changing to 32 bit float for bit per channel but to no avail so that leads me to suspect it is compression.

Due to the fact that I am planning to use render farm, I don't want my money to go down the drain. They are asking $15 dollars more to fix the issue so it is definitely something fixable but I don't know what it is and they obviously won't tell me. I would appreciate for anyone to offer some pointers.

Thanks.

scanline

Actually I went back to my project and I see the banding in keyshot itself. I missed that one. So it is something that could be fixed in keyshot before rendering because it looked like the render is exactly the same as what I see in my port view. I played around with contrast and size of the HDRI background but the problem persisted.

Edit: I went back and found out that the keyshot startup HDRI says 512x256. So could that be the issue, that it is too small?

Rex