Best Laptop For KeyShot?

Started by Matt.Kinsington, September 27, 2017, 04:37:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matt.Kinsington

I will be traveling for my studies and want to learn KeyShot while I travel, so cannot use a desktop.

Also would like to use that same laptop to start doing professional work once I get skilled enough so I don't have to buy an extra PC.

Is anybody using a laptop for professional KeyShot work?  Is it ok?  What models or specs do you recommend?

Thanks  8)

mattjgerard

The requirements to make KS to run well are pretty simple. average video capabilities, average RAM and HD requirements, but the most powerful CPU you can stuff into a laptop. That being said, you are probably going to be looking at some pretty hefty (in both price and weight) options. I'm not an expert in PC laptops, and I woud guess that there are dozens of custom PC laptop manufacturers to choose from. I think you need to consider the following-

1) How much will you be plugged in VS battery? If you are working in locations where there is line power available, you can get the most powerful system you can, without worry of battery performance and endurance of running without plug in power. If you will be operating more and more on battery, then you need to pull back on the CPU to retain battery life. There are other things that can help you extend battery life, such as SSD drives instead of spinning discs, integrated graphics solutions vs dedicated high power GFX cards, display efficiency, etc. But with KS, the main power hog will be your CPU.