Accuracy of Units

Started by mdfz23, January 03, 2018, 07:44:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mdfz23

Hi All,

I am new to using Keyshot as my rendering platform and currently running on Keyshot 7.

I would like to make an animation on a robotic arm, where there are multiple movements on a single joint. I am able to do a few combination of rotations and translations but my biggest difficulty is that I require specific angles and lengths for my movements (i.e. 45.654deg, 134.678mm, etc.) but Keyshot only has the unit accuracy of to the closest 1th. I noticed for angles, it has two decimals but I can't input the decimals. Is there any setting for changing the accuracy of the units? I look forward to your advise and thank you for your kind understanding.

Will Gibbons

Quote from: mdfz23 on January 03, 2018, 07:44:00 PM
Hi All,

I am new to using Keyshot as my rendering platform and currently running on Keyshot 7.

I would like to make an animation on a robotic arm, where there are multiple movements on a single joint. I am able to do a few combination of rotations and translations but my biggest difficulty is that I require specific angles and lengths for my movements (i.e. 45.654deg, 134.678mm, etc.) but Keyshot only has the unit accuracy of to the closest 1th. I noticed for angles, it has two decimals but I can't input the decimals. Is there any setting for changing the accuracy of the units? I look forward to your advise and thank you for your kind understanding.

I would recommend creating this animation in your CAD application if possible and then importing it into KeyShot if you can. I don't know of a way to increase unit decimal places.

mdfz23

Hi Will,

I did my CAD modelling in SolidWorks Standard Edition 2017.

So all my animations done in SolidWorks will be the same if imported into KeyShot?

Will Gibbons

Quote from: mdfz23 on January 07, 2018, 08:20:25 PM
Hi Will,

I did my CAD modelling in SolidWorks Standard Edition 2017.