Lighting issue

Started by mrmunchies, October 06, 2018, 05:41:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrmunchies

Hello all, I'm still fairly new to KS, and while I think it's a great program, I find it hard to grasp seemingly simple things. I've read through the KS8 manual which explains what settings do, but not always how to use these settings. I've been reverse-engineering steps by looking at screenshots that forum members have uploaded. I also try to find YouTube tutorials, and I've been going through a bunch of the webinars provided by KS, but some things still puzzle me. I've also reached out to KS reg. training, but as I'm based in Australia, I don't have much hope they provide official training here. I echo mattjgerard's thread ("Request for training") here to a degree; maybe it's just me, but why isn't there a comprehensive course/manual about HOW to use KS? Step by step tutorials seem to exist for all other software; I don't fully understand how people with advanced KS skills got to where they are - did you guys just experiment for days/weeks on end? I don't have that kind of time, and that seems like an inefficient way to learn the software.

What I would love some help with, is the basic lighting test I attached. I have KS8 and I really liked the spotlight feature that the KS team was showing off in a YouTube video (starts at 54 minute mark, link to video below), but I can't get the same results no matter what I try. I can't even get a simple spotlight to generate any light at all. This is extremely frustrating as I don't know what I'm doing wrong. I also tried following the steps in the KS8 manual about adding a sphere and dragging a light onto it, but still no result from my end. It'd be great if I could download that particular KS test scene with working spotlights, but I can't seem to find it anywhere.