First presentable render

Started by aebstract, August 25, 2011, 04:02:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

aebstract

I'm pretty new to 3D modelling and rendering, right now at work I'm beginning a big project of rendering the equipment that we build. In some of my spare time at home I'm trying to get better at both modelling and rendering. Below is my first render for work that I feel is worth showing, would like any and all comments/critique since I'm a beginner and trying to expand my knowledge as much as possible.

elliasp

Chad Holton

Great start! Practice, practice and practice some more seems to work best.  ;)

PhilippeV8

imageshack is blocked here at work  :(
I'll have to wait till I get home, unless you upload on the forum  8)

aebstract

Oops! Sorry, I added it as an attachment instead of using the imageshack link. The material and scene lighting is tough, I think I'm fairly close to the correct metal material that I'm trying to achieve but I haven't really gotten in to textures and mapping that much yet. I've been a web developer and media designer for so long now, doing this is refreshing and very fun. Something I can see myself trying to get in to career-wise if possible down the road.

Thanks for the comments :)

PS: I forgot to mention, for time saving with this project I am not fully rendering but using the realtime render and using a screenshot after letting it sit until everything seems smooth enough. Not sure if this is acceptable for what I'm doing or not, but I'm having to do between 5 to 15 shots roughly per machine for like upwards of 100 machines so I figured that would be best?

Tiho Ramovic

Nice model and render  ;)
You could only make shadows on the ground smoother (make sure that Sharp Shadows option is checked in the render settings).

Tiho

guest84672

@ Timo - Sharp Shadows won't help. Increase the Shadow Quality in the realtime tab.