Shadow & Lighting Issues

Started by Don Cheke, November 12, 2019, 11:15:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Don Cheke

I know I am new to keyshot so probably have lots to learn, but I am wondering if this CAD HD version of KeyShot is just not up to the job. I don't see these kind of issues in the KeyShot gallery when I have looked and yet I see them too often in my renderings.

In the first attached image, what is with the jagged shadows. These are there whether shadow quality is set to 1 or 5. I thought maybe it had to do with material refraction, but changing that just changes the overall look from pretty good to pretty bad.

In the second image I am seeing white jaggies again and based on past experience this does not seem to be lighting based but something wrong with the program, not being able to anti alias white. White are typically hot spots from bright environment reflections and they are desirable - but the jaggies are not.

I don't have $1500 extra to move up to the better version of KeyShot, even assuming that might be what is needed. I really like KeyShot, but I am getting frustrated with these little issues.

sloanelliot

Hi Don. I'm pretty certain there's no difference to the core rendering algorithm in your version vs. the full version, but I could be mistaken. I hate to say it, but every rendering platform varies and all come with their share of headaches and learning curves.. If you can share the project file again I'd be happy to take a look at it. As I'd mentioned in your other thread, you typically want to avoid "100%" anything-- 100% white (especially with lights and HDRI pins, etc.), 100% black, 100% gloss, etc. But I agree, the shadows look off and I'm curious if it's scale/units related. I'm confident there's a solution!

Ha, I and I swear-- Keyshot is worth the effort once you get the hang of it.

sleby

As far as I can see there is something odd with environment. Have you tried changing it?

sloanelliot