Need advice on getting a more realistic render

Started by Kevin Brown, March 03, 2020, 07:09:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin Brown

I'm new to Keyshot.  I'm a woodworker and build custom drums... as a hobby.  By day I'm a mechanical designer / drafter using solidworks.  I've used PV360 and visualize a bit for renders but they always looked fake.  The first render I did on keyshot sold me on it... but I think I can get better. (I've had the program less than a week)

As a woodworker, I'm very particular about the way the wood looks.. getting the general color and some varying grain doesn't cut it... So I believe finding excellent quality jpgs of wood is the way to go.  I'm noticing a few things though - the wood looks flat.  There is grain and pores and textures and unevenness to wood that make it real.  I've seen some tutorials where a specific texture will come with multiple layers to use to create some of that depth... but I don't really understand the process.  I'd also like to be able to add a clear coat over the wood to give it a tad of depth and be able to control it as if it's a thick gloss finish or a smooth satin hand rubbed finish.

I use stainless a lot and finish it either brushed, polished, or bead blasted... Any tips for a nice looking bead blasted stainless?

See my attached rendering and screen shots of the process.  I use the solidworks plugin to bring into keyshot, then have the keyshot render, then the final render with some photoshop... mostly upped the contrast and added a bit of blur to the edges / back.

Really just looking for direction, tips, advice... 

Kevin Brown

My end goal is to produce images that look like they were photographed the way I photograph my actual drums...  I've attached a few examples so you can see what I'm after.

Again and direction or advice is greatly appreciated.

RRIS