Does anyone have any models of vinyl that look realistic?

Started by avidstuart, May 25, 2021, 07:00:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

avidstuart

Hello everyone,

I am totally new to this but learning as I go along.

I have been working on some renders of high-end turntables and really want to put some vinyl (records) on them but I can't find them anywhere. Does anyone have any good ones that they would be happy to share with me?
(I have covers it's just the actual vinyl that I can't make look photorealistic)

Sorry if this is not how things are done here, but I always find that asking direct questions is the best way.

Open to discussing swapping models I have if they would be of any interest to you?? (I would ask that you don't alter them though as they are real products that we make :-)

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Stuart

Zeltronic

Honestly you may save your time & money if you do it by yourself, even in keyshot that is not a modeling tool you can do it with basics shapes...

avidstuart

I have had a go... it looks OK from far away but when you get close it just looks like a bumpy mess.

the issue I am having with vinyl is when you look at an album you can see the breaks between tracks and the way it reflects changes across the surface. It's tricky

Plus I don't have the full version of Keyshot I have the setup you get with Alibre and I am self-taught with both.

I can only import and export as either .bip or .ksp which is a shame because I can find loads of resources that have amazing looking models but they are all Blender, 3DMax or other.

shame because some of them look actually real!!

The best I can do at the moment is attached. (If you look closely at the record it's horrible)

.... Wait how do I add a picture on here?

Stuart

Zeltronic

If you have already found the model you want to use in blender or obj format, I am convinced that a good soul will convert it for you to .bip if you drop it on this forum ;)

avidstuart

Really?