Help rendering teeth and gingiva

Started by peterdahl, January 22, 2012, 10:48:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

peterdahl

Hi KeyShot community.

I am a software engineer with a background in real-time graphics from the games industry, who normally do all renderings within the real-time domain. I have often found it hard to benchmark my results, though, and are therefore evaluating KeyShot as a way to create reference renderings to compare to my real-time solutions. I must say that I am impressed so far, as KeyShot gives good results and is easy to work with. I did however run into a small problem when trying to render teeth and gingiva.

Teeth is a layered material that has enamel on the outside (slightly bluish hue), dentine in the middle (yellowish) and pulp in the inner layer (red). I am disregarding pulp, put as it can be seen in the photograph I attached, teeth should exhibit more of the dentine layer in the bottom of the tooth, and more of the pure enamel look in the top.
How can I setup such a volumetric material in KeyShot ? I am hoping to avoid textures, but the use of ramp textures could be an option.

Currently I have tried to setup the surface color to the slightly yellow dentine color, and the scattering color to the more blue enamel color. This does help a bit, but I feel sure KeyShot can give me better results than this.

I have attached my material settings and a screenshot of my real-time view. I am using the Conference Room env to light. I am currently still using the trial, so I show the real-time view instead of the rendering to avoid the watermark. I realize there is a difference, but the overall point still holds and should be visible.

Any help and ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
- Peter

KeyShot