Getting that modo "clay render" look with Keyshot

Started by SchoolStreetDesign, January 28, 2012, 10:31:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SchoolStreetDesign

I'm primarily a Rhino/T-Splines user, and bought Keyshot this fall, so I'm relatively new to rendering.  I've recently started learning modo, and one thing that I really like is the white "clay render" look that you can get with modo.  For example, I really like the look of the render used in the banner at the top of this page:

http://www.luxology.com/store/19_subdivision_modeling/index.aspx

I'm trying to replicate that look and feel in Keyshot, but what I find is that I often have trouble with white materials getting very washed out.  Anyone have any suggestions for getting this type of look in Keyshot?

-Sky

Speedster

Welcome to KeyShot!  You will love it.  For the "look", just start with a matte or diffuse white, then double-click on it to open the materials editor tabs.  Drop the diffuse down a bit to a light grey, then raise the specular a bit to suit.  I use a medium grey, and sometimes an "Art Center" reddish-brown often for the clay passes, like for my products on TurboSquid.  You can see examples by searching Gould Studios on TurboSquid.

The actual look is highly dependent on the HDR you use, so experiment with them.  Also, for clay passes it often helps to drop the Gamma setting on the Realtime tab to 1.6-1.8 from the default of 2.0, then tweak your brightness (usually down) on the Environment tab only.

All of the above should take maybe 3-5 minutes!  Likely much less.  I also am just starting to play with the Modo trial, and frankly can't even figure out where to start!  I use SolidWorks, so it's quite a transition!

Bill G
www.GouldStudios.com

SchoolStreetDesign

Bill -

Thanks so much for the reply!  I will definitely give that a shot, and see how it works.  I'm very new to rendering, so it might take a bit longer than the 3-5 minutes you suggest :)