Violin Render - NX model

Started by Magnus Skogsfjord, December 15, 2013, 06:22:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Magnus Skogsfjord

I am a fifth-year student at a university in Norway, and I'm currently responsible for teaching CAD(NX) to the first-year students. One of the students there, Sondre Kvam, delivered a model of a violin which I thought was very impressing, especially considering the fact that he has only been working with the software for one semester(!) He rendered out pictures in NX, which was very decent, although NX isn't the best software to use for realistic rendering in my opinion.

I asked Sondre for the model, to give it the justice it deserved, and rendered some images, as well as a short animation(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aqh_Vcj156c)

Hope you like them :)

Josh3D

Perfection. This is a beautiful image. Thanks for sharing this.

Speedster

You think these are good?  Or should I say GREAT!  Just wait until you see the stunning animation at http://keyshot.com/forum/index.php/topic,7264.0.html!

By the way- the f holes are super- I love the little internal sharp points that sets them apart from other makers.

I personally would like to see a bit of ebony grain- can be done using only a bump map.  Also, I don't quite understand what wood you are using for the purfling?  It seems kind of reddish.

Bill G

DriesV

Pretty impressive model for a 'novice' CAD user -of any platform for that matter- indeed!
I can remember my final model after my first semester of CAD (which was in Rhino btw) in college... it wasn't a violin, that's for sure. ;D

About NX:
I've been wanting to learn NX for forever. Magnus, if you know of a (affordable) way for me to learn NX self-paced in my free time and to use it for non-commercial purposes (hell, I would even accept watermark output! ;)), please send me a PM!

Regards,
Dries

Magnus Skogsfjord