Black Spots on Model

Started by MosaDawas, June 30, 2014, 09:27:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MosaDawas

I'm very new to 3D designing, and this is my first time using KeyShot 5 Pro, and I love it. Absolutely love it, although I have one problem.

On some models, when I apply a material, big black spots pollute the model.

Here is an example:

It doesn't go away once rendered, either. Here is a picture of it post-render (the product isn't finished, I just wanted to experiment and I can't continue with the product until this issue is resolved).

I don't know what the grey areas on the rendered image are (maybe transparency), it doesn't look that way on my laptop.

Rex

Hi Mosa,

Welcome to the forum! What material are you using? It looks like you have a color map texture applied in which the scale needs to be reduced. Double-click on the material to open the material editor, go to the texture tab, select the color map, and reduce the scale. Let me know if this helps.

Rex

MosaDawas

Quote from: Rex on June 30, 2014, 09:55:35 AM
Hi Mosa,

Welcome to the forum! What material are you using? It looks like you have a color map texture applied in which the scale needs to be reduced. Double-click on the material to open the material editor, go to the texture tab, select the color map, and reduce the scale. Let me know if this helps.

Rex

Hello, Rex.

I am using a downloaded material from the KeyShot Cloud entitled, "Gold 24k Brushed". I can't find "color map" anywhere, it's not in any of the drop-downs either, but I left it as it is and reduced the scale which was originally set to "1", but as you can see, it hasn't changed anything on the model.

Rex

Quote from: MosaDawas on June 30, 2014, 10:49:05 AM