Multiple materials on the same object

Started by Re-Sol, August 06, 2014, 04:22:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Re-Sol

Our company recently purchased a full version license of Keyshot 5 for Geomagic. I am learning both programs at the same time, and I am new to CAD. I am used to 3D Studio Max where objects are unwrapped and textured. It's very possible I'm missing something simple.

I'm trying to apply multiple materials on the Geomagic tutorial part. I poked around the web and found a video showing in Pro/E that changing the colors of the faces would allow for separate materials in Keyshot. Figuring this would be the same for all CAD programs I changed the colors of several areas on my Geomagic model. I exported it to .bip (the only file our Keyshot will open) and when opened in Keyshot the part is a single material.

Can anyone give me some advice?

In Geomagic:

Imported to Keyshot:

jhiker

I'm afraid it doesn't work that way in Geomagic. If it's a single part it will always be the same single colour in Keyshot.
There is a workaround though.....
You need to create a new part in GM and make an assembly of the two (or more) parts - the base part and the new part, then export the assembly to Keyshot.

Let's say we're talking about the large inset face on your model. The new part will be a 'skin', only 0.05mm thick or whatever, created on a plane (which may, in fact, be the inset face) using 'project to sketch' to generate the 2D sketch for the extrusion operation.
Actually 'project to sketch' is really useful - you should explore it.

If I can help further let me know - I use Keyshot and Alibre/Geomagic too.
They work very well together, I find.

I take it you are aware of the Alibre/GM user forum here...
http://forum.alibre.com/index.php?sid=ceba1249b86f65c0e95cc976ed4b5f8a
You'll get lots of help should you need it.

Edit: Read this...
http://forum.alibre.com/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=15849&p=97207&hilit=faces+keyshot#p97207

Re-Sol