Screw thread texture

Started by MayTec, March 28, 2011, 07:13:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MayTec

Hello everybody from Munich,

can anyone tell me how can i create a thread texture for a screw?
So i am a newbie in keyshot and i dont have a lot of experience in rendering software.

Please describe exactly what i have to do, ok? :-)
In the moment we have the demoversion of keyshot 2.2 pro and we want to know how the software works.
We import models from ProE WF2 or 3 and want to create renderings for our catalog.

Sorry for my bad english,

thanks a lot and regards,
Lui

guest84672

Are threads inside Pro/E only "cosmetic" features?

brettcasteel

I have the same thing going on with solidworks the threads are only cosmetic what i did was i added another cut in solidworks to my model just used a simple cut sweep and had it follow a helical path

Gert Noels

Hello,
I created a while ago the scew in pro/e with helical sweep, this is only one extra feature.

MayTec

Ok, thanks to all of you.

So i must create the thread in ProE...
I thought i can create a texture in keyshot and render the screw.

Ok, thanks again.

Lui

Chad Holton

I've never tried it (creating threads as a bump). It just seems easier to do that in the modeling software (with Pro/E anyway) and also think it would look better having it as real geometry.

neilr

I don't have a good pic on this computer but here is a threaded rod I did on a cnc machine, all the screws used the same tread texture and bumpmap.

I just used a pic of some threads I found online and modified it for the bump map...

MayTec

@neilr, ok can you send me the texture and bumpmap? I dont have found anything like that...?

andy.engelkemier

Threads as bump won't give you much since it's a cylinder. It looks pretty strange to have something appear to have shape from the front, but is perfectly smooth at the edges.