Coloured Environment and Backplane Shadows

Started by degruch, November 15, 2011, 04:42:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

degruch

Hello all,

OK, I've been at this for a long time, so I shouldn't be asking noobie questions...but I will.  ;D

I want to render a red car with a matching red background, can I cange the colour of my environment? I went to options, noted I could change the background colour, but the environment remained grey with a hint of red. Tease. Can it be changed to red?

Also, when using a backplane, can I cast a shadow? Ground only? Any tips on how I could get a wall mounted product to cast a shadow on a backplane featuring a picture of a wall? I don't have Photoshop, but Autodesk Sketchbook may be able to do it...I like to avoid post because I'm not good at it.

Any advice for both issue very welcome, thanks!

Duane

degruch

Here's what I'm talking about, from an...ahem...un-named rival rendering package (copyright William Woods too):

Anyone done this on Keyshot? How can it be done?

caden2010

Hi there, makes a change for me to be able to help (hopefully).

Is this what you are after? Is so simply uncheck "show environment" and use just the background colour.

Regards,
Stuart

PhilippeV8

QuoteAlso, when using a backplane, can I cast a shadow? Ground only? Any tips on how I could get a wall mounted product to cast a shadow on a backplane featuring a picture of a wall?

As for this ... why not use the ground as wall ?  Your camera would be "over the top" upside down for a perspective higher then your object.  This way the shadow will cast on the wall (what is actualy the ground).  Your backplate will folow anywhere you go either way.  Play around with a right environement for this and you should be set.

Zander85

I recommend using HDR Light Studio in conjunction with Keyshot for this. Here is a tutorial for HDR Light Studio that might help.

http://www.hdrlightstudio.com/lesson/keyshot_jewelry_step_by_step

degruch